For databases that can be accessed remotely, you will need the 14 digit number on the back of your Newport Public Library issued library card.
= Accessible from home with your Newport Public Library issued library card.
If you need any assistance, you can ask a librarian.
Note: The Encyclopedia Britannica database will no longer be available as of May 2022. World Book Online and Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia are still available for your encyclopedia needs.
ACADEMIC SEARCH ELITE
A core resource for scholarly information across a range of disciplines. Includes thousands of journals, with content either available in full-text or abstracted and indexed.
ACCESS WORLD NEWS
Find information on world issues and events, education, government, politics and more including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring the Providence Journal, USA Today, international sources and more.
Search records contaning more than 1.4 Billion names from around the world. Maintained by the New England Historical Genealogical Society. Available in Library only.
A popular genealogy resource. Provides access to census data, vital records, directories, photos, and other key genealogical research tools.
An online information resource for Rhode Island residents. Databases offered are particularly useful for students, jobseekers, librarians, and educators.
A to Z DATABASES
A reference and marketing database providing access to millions of residential and business records. Use to find businesses and jobs, access resume and cover letter templates, build mailing lists, or conduct market research.
A do-it-yourself resource for repairing and maintaining domestic and imported vehicles manufactured between 1974 and today. Includes step-by-step photos, video overviews, wiring diagrams, service bulletins, and other resources.
BIOGRAPHY REFERENCE CENTER
Contains full-text biographies of notable figures, including well-known artists, athletes, scientists, and political leaders. Global in scope. Search by name or browse the database’s 30 categories to identify personalities of interest.
Keeping readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation, and the world every day, the Chicago Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism, earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Covers 1985-present.
CONSUMER HEALTH COMPLETE
Designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Covers all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
EDUCATION RESOURCES INFORMATION CENTER (ERIC)
An online library of education research and information maintained by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences. Provides article, reports, and data for people interested in learning more about the theory and practice of education.
EXPLORA – EDUCATOR’S EDITION
EBSCO’s interface for teachers, offering access to lesson plans, curriculum standards, and professional development resources. Allows you to access multiple EBSCO databases at once, using a Google-like search box. Patrons can search across ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Points of View Reference Center, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
EXPLORA – PRIMARY SCHOOLS
EBSCO’s interface for elementary school students. Kids can search across Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Middle Search Plus, TOPICSearch, Topic Overview K-5, Points of View Reference Center, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
EXPLORA – PUBLIC LIBRARY EDITION
EBSCO’s interface for public library patrons. Allows you to access multiple EBSCO databases at once, using a Google-like search box. Patrons can search across MasterFILE Premier, Topic Overviews, Consumer Health Complete, Points of View Reference Center, Read It!, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
EXPLORA – SECONDARY SCHOOLS
EBSCO’s interface for middle and high school students. Tweens/teens can search across History Reference Center, TOPICSearch, Academic Search Elite, Literary Reference Center, Topic Overview 6-12, Consumer Health Complete, Middle Search Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Biography Collection Complete, Points of View Reference Center, Read It!, and EBSCO’s ebook collection.
Provides an exhaustive, international database sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, searchable by name, geography and more. Create a free account to get the most out of this resource. The Newport Public Library is now an affiliate of FamilySearch’s research and library system, making even more records available when using this site in-library.
FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY PROGRAM – BASIC COLLECTION
Provides access to key sources of information about the workings of the United States federal government.
Flipster offers easy access to magazines from your computer. Access the latest issues to magazines of many different subjects.
FUNK & WAGNALLS ENCYCLOPEDIA
A popular information resource offering full-text articles on a range of subjects.
A collection of popular, scholarly, and government-authored resources on environmental issues. Covers topics such as climate change, sustainable agriculture, green building, and renewable energy.
HERITAGE QUEST ONLINE
A genealogical tool offering primary resources, family histories, and finding aids. Includes 6 core data sets – US Federal Censuses, genealogical and local history books, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank Records, and the US Congressional Serial Set.
HISTORY REFERENCE CENTER
Provides over half a million full-text articles on historical topics from peer-reviewed journals, reference books, and other sources. Also includes primary source documents, biographies, maps, and historical photos.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Content available to NPL patrons covers economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
Offers students and adult learners resources for achieving their educational and career goals. Content includes tutorials and practice tests, resume and cover letter writing guides, and workplace skill-building tools.
LIBRARY, INFORMATION SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY ABSTRACTS
Provides indexing and abstracting for key library and information science journals, books, and research reports. Coverage includes 600+ journals and extends back to the mid-1960s.
LOS ANGELES TIMES
The perspective of the American West, lauded for its coverage of
immigration, entertainment, and environmental issues. Covers 1985-present.
A resource for developing language proficiency and cultural awareness around real-world communication skills. Offers 60+ languages with lessons in an interactive visual/auditory format.
Provides full-text articles from nearly 1,700 periodicals. Topics covered: general reference, business, health, education, general science, culture, and more.
Access many of the biomedical and health journals indexed in the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database. Content is largely full-text and available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals, and researchers to access to the information as soon as it is published.
MIDDLE SEARCH PLUS
Provides full-text articles from magazines for middle and junior high school students. Content includes biographies, historical essays, student pamphlets, primary source documents, etc. Materials come with reading level indicators.
NEW YORK TIMES HISTORICAL
Provides full-text access to back issues of the paper (1851-2013). Content is searchable by keyword, author, article title, and first paragraph (abstract); it includes illustrations and advertisements. (Note: this publication’s title changed from The New York Daily Times to The New York Times in 1857.)
NEW YORK TIMES
The paper of record in the U.S. best known for its analysis of news,
issues, and social changes. Coverage includes The New York Times Book Review and The New York Times Magazine. Covers 1980-present.
Offers access to past editions of newspapers from the United States and abroad. Search or browse the collection of 4,200+ titles to find news reports, notices of births/marriages/deaths, sports headlines, comics, and more.
NEWPORT DAILY NEWS
Contains articles published in the paper from 2001 through today. Search full-color digital image edition, full-text and web-only content.
A more robust version of EBSCO’s Novelist database. Includes nonfiction titles and audiobooks.
POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER
Provides resources exploring multiple sides of complex issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments, better understand current issues, and develop essay writing skills.
A digital platform providing access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines. This service is free for NPL patrons. There are no limits on downloads or back issues. Content is accessible from both desktop and mobile devices.
Contains full-text articles from popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries, and a vast image collection. Covers a range of topics, from endangered species and famous musicians to fitness and space exploration.
Contains articles published in the paper from 1983 through today. Search full-color digital image edition, full-text and web-only content. Obituaries are not included.
RHODE ISLAND’S HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
Search local newspapers from the colonial era through the early 20th century (1732-1921). Contains over two dozen publications, including the Newport-based Rhode Island Gazette, Newport Mercury, Newport Herald, and Rhode Island Republican.
TEACHER REFERENCE CENTER
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more.
Offers teachers, librarians, and students resources for supporting classroom discussion. Content covers current events, a range of socio-economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in school.
Help improve your career skills or further develop a personal interest with access to more than 4,000 continuously updated, on-demand video courses. Explore the many options across 75 categories in business, technology, design, and more taught by world-class instructors.
U.S. MAJOR DAILIES
Provides online access to Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
WALL STREET JOURNAL
The single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Covers 1984-present.
Inside-the-beltway coverage of politics and highly respected investigative journalism. Covers 1987-present.
WORLD BOOK ONLINE
An online, interactive complement to World Book’s popular print reference set.